District 28 Region of Durham was formed in 1976. The main district communities include Oshawa, Whitby, Ajax, Pickering, Courtice, Bowmanville, Newcastle, Port Perry, Uxbridge, Scugog and Brock.

Our members include those who work in and retire from education – including child care and early years, schools and school boards, post-secondary, private schools and more. We play a key role in helping members stay active and connected – with each other and the community.

District 28 is situated on the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation. We recognize that this territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties. We also acknowledge the urban Indigenous communities in our district.

District 28 Region of Durham recognizes the inequities connected to colonization and commits to working towards creating a just, inclusive and vibrant community for all.

We invite our members to reflect the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action.


Members and growing

District 28 Region of Durham President

Donald Farquharson

District 28 Region of Durham Executive

Name Role Email
Donald Farquharson President
Aileen Fletcher First Vice-President
Maureen O'Reilly Secretary
Jamie Finan Treasurer
Susan Nieuwenburg Member Services Coordinator
Charlie Turner Member Services Coordinator
Janet Beaton Goodwill Rep
Susan Nieuwenburg Newsletter Editor
Charlie Turner Newsletter Editor
John Logue Health Benefits Representative
Donald Farquharson PAC Rep
Charlie Turner Web Master
Don Farquharson Corporate Member 1
Aileen Fletcher Corporate Member 2
Allan Bunker Alternate 2
James Craigen Community Grant Rep
Aileen Fletcher Governance
Charlie Turner Social Media Rep
Susan Nieuwenburg Social Media Rep
Allan Bunker RPW Organizer

Learn more about RTOERO

Not a member yet?

Join today! Membership is free until retirement.